Education

Long Lake #58 First Nation Education Authority

The Long Lake #58 First Nation Education Authority was originally established with Ginoogaming First Nation in 1997 as the Anishinabek Gikinoo Gaamig Ogiimaakanig.  In July 2012, it became its own entity.  Migizi Wazisin Elementary School (MWES) began in single units on Wolf Street in September 1998 and moved into its current location on 100 Marten Road in December 2000.  Gelineau Fisher and Roy Thomas, community members of Long Lake #58 First Nation, who often collaborated on works of art, were commissioned to paint a mural for the Grand Opening.  It is proudly displayed for all to see as you walk through the main entrance at MWES. Once we became our own entity, high school programming from Grade 9 to 12 commenced in September 2012 with the extension to MWES completed in 2014 to include a shared gymnasium and shops for Migizi Miigwanan Secondary School (MMSS).  MMSS opened its doors to its students and staff in November that year.

 

Our student population at MWES is approximately 125 from Junior Kindergarten to Grade 8 and 65 students from Grades 9 to 12 at MMSS.  Education programming is deeply rooted in the Medicine Wheel and Seven Grandfathers.  Cultural programming, Outdoor Education, Land-Based Activities, Seasonal Camps, Literacy, Numeracy, Social Development and Technology are key focus area of the curriculum. In the Fall of 2020, Long Lake #58 First Nation launches its history curriculum to be taught to its students from Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12. The teaching lodge that sits on Migizi Schools grounds is in its final phase to hold classes and ceremonies throughout all seasons beginning the Fall of 2020. Sports has always played a major role in Long Lake #58 First Nation.  MWES hosts the Delores Ruben Annual Baseball Tournament for area elementary schools each June.  Team sports at MMSS grows stronger each year despite the number of students.  Throughout the year, Migizi Schools hold many community gatherings, feasts, ceremonies and celebrations because parents, caregivers, family members and the community as a whole share the goals, challenges and successes of our students.


 

Claire Onabigon, Education Director 

claireonabigon@58education.com

807 876 4914 – Direct Line

807 876 4715 – Fax Line

807 876 4482 ext. 102

 

Christopher Hill, Successful Schools Coordinator

chrishill@58education.com

807 876 9607 ext. 203

 

Jessica Shawanamash, Board/MMSS Secretary

jessicashawanamash@58education.com

807 876 9607 ext. 201

 

 


Schools

early-learning-centre

Long Lake #58 FN Early Learning Centre

The purpose of the Long Lake #58 FN Early Learning Centre is to provide quality care and educational experiences for young children, toddler age through school age, in a family style program. Our focus is on children first, and we aim to foster learning around belonging, engagement, expression and well-being. Children must be valued as individuals that are competent, capable, curious, and rich in potential.

The language and culture along with the 7 Grandfather Teachings are implemented daily into our curriculum which provides our children with a sense of pride in who we are.

 

We provide two nutritious snacks and a hot lunch daily to promote children's growth and development. These are prepared by our cooks, Linda Legarde and Kevin Ferris.

The Long Lake #58 FN Early Learning Centre has been in operation in our current location since 1993 but has been established since the early ‘80’s.


We are licensed by the Ministry of Education for the following programs:

  • Toddler Program (18 months - 30 months) - 15 spaces (Dakota Patabon, RECE and Andrea Buchanan, TA)
  • Preschool Program (31 months - 5 years) - 32 spaces (Tracy Gagnon, ECE – Jill Magiskan, TA and Corena Zoccole, TA)
  • Before and After School and Lunch Program (school-aged - 12 years) - 15 spaces (Julie Bouchard, ECE Student and Full time floater)

 

Marlene Mitchell is the Director of the Centre. 

Susan Patabon is the Program Supervisor.

Debbie Blouin is the Operational Assistant.

Julie Bouchard is our team floater which means that she works in every room with all the staff and children.

Steven Luby is our custodian.


As our children leave our care to continue their journey, we celebrate this milestone with our Moving Up Celebration.

 


Hours of Operation: Mon - Fri 8:00 - 5:00 / Closed on Statutory Holidays

migizi-elementary-school

Migizi Wazisin Elementary School

Migizi Wazisin Elementary School is mindful of the Vision and Mission Statements that light our path as we journey through the school system established and maintained by the Anishinaabe of Long Lake #58.

Migizi Wazisin Elementary School prides itself on providing learning experiences for students that are based on being Anishinaabe. We deliver and operate the education day/year based on the Medicine Wheel and the Seven Grandfathers teachings. The Granny and Baba program delivers and reinforces cultural practices and teachings. We use the provincial curriculum as a guide to help us focus student learning goals for their successes. 

Migizi Wazisin hosts Junior Kindergarten to Grade 8 within the school. Each classroom has an Education Assistant to support the learning needs of the students. We have a well-established Social Skills and Virtues program, the physical education program is equipped for both indoor and outdoor learning, while Program Support provides concentrated programming. The Bimaadizowin Centre program focuses on Life Skills, Culture and Land-based Learning, Literacy and Math.

At the beginning and end of each learning week we gather in the Circle to hear announcements, say prayers, and to sing and drum. At the end of the month we recognize students who have demonstrated good attendance, learned new skills, showed courage, or an act of kindness.

At the end of the school year, we honour those students who are graduating Grade 8 and the Kindergartens usually have a Moving on Celebration. In addition, we award the following plaques: Most Improved Student, High Achiever and The Seven Grandfathers, per grade.

Parents and Caregivers are invited to our celebrations. We make home visits, deliver report cards, invitations to Open Houses, and provide a monthly newsletter. Our Migizi Wazisin Elementary School Facebook page is active with information.


Valerie Pheasant, Principal

valeriepheasant@58education.com

807 876 4482 ext. 102

807 876 4128 Fax

 

Beverley Wesley, Secretary

bevwesley@58education.com

807 876 4482 ext. 101

807 876 4128 Fax

 

Juliette Patabon, Wellness Worker

juliepatabon@58education.com

807 876 4482 ext. 104

807 876 4128 Fax

 

Monique Wesley, Custodian

moniquewesley@58education.com


 

Migizi Wazisin Classroom Staff

Shelley LaBelle, JK/SK Teacher shelleylabelle@58education.com

Marty Waboose, EA martywaboose@58education.com

Amber Townsend, Grade 1 ambertownsend@58education.com

Deena Ruben, EA deenaruben@58education.com

Nicole Mortella, Grade 2/3 nicolemortella@58education.com

Roxanne Lafortune, EA roxannelafortune@58education.com

Rachel White, Grade 4 sheilawhite@58education.com

Jasmin Legarde, EA jasminlegarde@58education.com

Brianna Monaghan, Grade 5/6 briannamonaghan@58education.com

Leslie Morris, EA lesliemorris@58education.com

Sheilah Gaffney, Grade 7/8 sheilahgaffney@58education.com

Glen Wesley, EA glenwesley@58education.com

Cheryl Dunk, Program Support Coordinator/Teacher cheryldunk@58education.com

Theresa Fortier, Literacy Lead Teacher terifortier@58education.com

Vicky Forget, Program Support EA vickyforget@58education.com

Carol Marzowski, Program Support Tutor Escort carolmarzowski@58education.com

 

 

Migizi Miigwanan Secondary School

Migizi Miigwanan Secondary School is a community school that provides a positive, respectful, inclusive, and engaging learning experience by emphasising a culturally enhanced and land-based curriculum. Our school strives to accommodate the social, emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual needs of every student and help develop their unique skills and abilities.

From an academic perspective, Migizi Miigwanan is pleased to offer compulsory and optional courses that not only reflect the interests and educational goals of the students, but also the current and future employment opportunities in the area. These courses include construction technology, mining, computer/business studies, and environmental stewardship. Our programs are designed to empower students to be life-long learners who are responsible family and community members.

With the support of caregivers and community members, it is anticipated that when students graduate, they will be confident in their ability to achieve their goals.


 

Jennifer Dunbar, Principal

jenniferdunbar@58education.com

807 876 9607 ext. 202

807 876 4219 Fax

 

Jessica Shawanamash, Board/MMSS Secretary

jessicashawanamash@58education.com

807 876 9607 ext. 201

807 876 4219 Fax

 

Johanne Ferris, Education Officer

johanneferris@58education.com

807 876 9607 ext. 204

807 876 4219 Fax

 


 

Migizi Miigwanan Classroom Staff

Jennifer Edwards, Program Support Teacher jenniferedwards@58education.com

Leonard Sherry, Teacher leonardsherry@58education.com

Kathleen Couch, Teacher katiecouch@58education.com

Augustus Raycroft, Teacher augustusraycroft@58education.com

Tracy Wilson, Adult High School Teacher tracywilson@58education.com

Sam Pollari, Shops Teacher sampollari@58education.com

Elroy Pecarski, EA/Health & Safety Advisor elroypecarski@58education.com

Lanny Shebagabow, EA/Land Based Advisor lannyshebagabow@58education.com

Marcy Desmoulin, EA/Student Success Advisor marcydesmoulin@58education.com

Travis Pelky, EA travispelky@58education.com

Jody Grenier, EA jodygrenier@58education.com

Corrie Beaulieu, Tutor Escort corriebeaulieu@58education.com



Location: 100 Marten Road, Longlake #58 First Nation, Ontario, P0T2A0
Phone: 1-807-876-9607
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 360 Longlac, ON P0T2A0

Daily Schedule:
Period 1 8:45am - 10:00am
Break 10:00am - 10:10am
Period 1 continued 10:10am - 11:15am
Lunch 11:15am - 12:25pm
Period 2 12:30pm - 1:45pm
Break 1:45pm - 1:55pm
Period 2 continued 1:55pm - 3:00pm

Matawa - First Nation Management

Indegenious and Northern Affairs Canada's (INAC) post-secondary education programs are intended to improve the employability of First Nations and Inuit people by providing eligible students with access to education and skills development opportunities at the post-secondary level. Please click here for a list of INAC’s programs.
For post secondary guidance and financial assistance, students must apply directly to Matawa.

Georgette O’Nabigon, Post Secondary Coordinator
Email: gonabigon@matawa.on.ca or learningcentre@matawa.on.ca
Website: http://education.matawa.on.ca/
Call: (807) 768-3300
Drop in:
Matawa
233 Court Street South
Thunder Bay, ON
P7B 2X9

Adult Education Program

For Adult Education, please contact Jennifer Dunbar, Migizi Miigwanan Secondary School Principal
Principal - Jennifer Dunbar
Education Officer - Johanne Ferris
Teacher - Tracy Wilson
Phone: 1-807-876-9607
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 360  Longlac, ON  P0T 2A0
Location: 100 Marten Road,  Long Lake #58 First Nation, ON  P0T 2A0

Financial Aid, Scholarships and Bursaries

Matawa

If you are eligible for money from the band for postsecondary education, please apply for that funding first through Matawa.
For post secondary assistance, students must apply directly to Matawa. Contact:
Georgette O’Nabigon, Post Secondary Coordinator
email: gonabigon@matawa.on.ca or
learningcentre@matawa.on.ca
website: https://www.matawaeducation.com/
call: (807) 768-3300
drop in: Matawa
233 Court Street South  Thunder Bay, ON  P7B 2X9
If the band funding doesn’t cover all of your costs, you can apply for OSAP. When you apply, OSAP will take into account any band funding you receive.

 

Douglas Legarde Memorial Minor’s Trust

Douglas Legarde Memorial Minor’s Trust
Members can also check to see if they are eligible.

 

Aboriginal Bursaries Website

Aboriginal Burseries Website
A searchable list of bursaries, scholarships and incentives for Aboriginal students.

 

Post-Secondary Student Support Program (PSSSP)
Post-Secondary Student Support Program (PSSSP)
Federal government funding for Status Indian and Inuit students enrolled in eligible postsecondary programs.

 

Metis Student Bursary Program

Metis Student Bursary Program
Funding for Métis students enrolled in postsecondary education. Apply for this funding through the financial aid office, Aboriginal student liaison centre or student support services at your college or university.

 

Canada Apprenticeship Loan and Canada Apprenticeship Grant

Canada Apprenticeship Loan and Canada Apprenticeship Grant
The Canada Apprentice Loan and Canada Apprenticeship Grant are initiatives of the Government of Canada to help you complete your apprenticeship in a designated Red Seal trade.

 

Indspire

Indspire
Indspire is an Indigenous-led registered charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people for the long term benefit of these individuals, their families and communities, and Canada.

 

University and College Entrance Preparation Program (UCEPP)

University and College Entrance Preparation Program (UCEPP)
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)’s University and College Entrance Preparation Program (UCEPP) provides financial assistance to First Nation and eligible Inuit students enrolled in university or college entrance programs to help them obtain the academic level required to enter a degree or diploma program.

 

Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP)

Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP)
A Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP) is a special savings account for parents who want to save for their child’s education after high school.